How was your trip?

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post but I had something cross my mind that I wanted to share.

A lot of my friends have been traveling, and I will be traveling in a few weeks to spend my birthday with family. My friend Marissa just returned from a trip to Costa Rica and I realized I hadn’t seen her since she came back. I thought to ask her how her trip was but I immediately stopped to think: I wonder how many times she’s been asked that question since she got back, she’s probably tired of telling that story. 

Yet, I realized she’s probably not. I remembered that when I came back from South Africa, I was never tired of telling about my experience. In fact, I wish more people had asked me about it.

I kind of fell back into the world. Most people had no idea I had even gone somewhere that summer. I wanted to tell my story over and over. I wanted to talk about the amazing people I met on my trip, the experiences I had, the growth I made. I was proud of myself, I was thankful for the experience and humbled by the people I met.

Which leads me to my routine attempt at a thought provoking metaphor:

For almost anyone coming back from travel or vacation the question is asked: How was your trip? When we reach the end of our journey here in the world, we will be asked the same question. 

When you ‘finish’ what God has planned for you on this earth you will be faced with that question. 

How do you want your story to be? Is it a story you’ll get tired of telling, or will it be a story you could shout from the rooftops until your throat runs dry. Will you be proud of all you accomplished, ready to finally be home? Or will you wish you had more time to do the things you planned?

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 

2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Love and Light,

Lauren Elizabeth

Leave a comment